PNC LaPorte County Academic Super Bowl Winners

LaPorte High School Academic Super Bowl Team

LaPorte High School’s Academic Super Bowl Team: Front Row: Chandler Watson, Taylor Jump, James Austin, Hannah Lawrence, Bree Winter, David Toth, Brandon Counter, Scott Urbanski
Back Row: Tristen Manuszak, Joey Tomal, Charlie Williams, Sarah Kirschbaum, Bethany Eyrick, Luke Vasilarakos, Brayan Salgado, Justin Vega, Austin Bohlin

Purdue University North Central recently hosted the sixth annual LaPorte County Senior Academic Super Bowl Open Invitational that drew teams from throughout Northwest Indiana.

The competition concluded with the team from North White High School taking first place. Second place went to the team of Home Scholars representing students from LaPorte, Porter and Lake Counties; third place went to the team  from LaPorte High School.

The competition theme was “Westward Expansion, 1783-1900”. Students competed in six subject areas – English, science, fine arts, social studies, math and interdisciplinary.

The winners in each round were:

English – third place – Home Scholars; second – North White; first – LaPorte

Science – third place – LaCrosse; second – North White, first – LaPorte

Fine Arts – third place – North White; second – Home Scholars; first – Elkhart Christian

Social Studies – third place – North White; second – Marquette; first – Home Scholars

Math – third place – LaPorte; second – Elkhart Christian; first –North White

Interdisciplinary – third place – Elkhart Christian; second – LaCrosse; first – North White

Super Bowl competition in Indiana is a part of the Indiana Association of School Principals, Department of Student Programs. This unique inter-scholastic academic competition program allows Indiana’s senior high, junior, middle and elementary school students an opportunity to compete in academics similar to an athletic contest. The academic competitions encourage academic achievement by offering participants recognition and reward by honoring intellectual achievement, academic competition celebrating scholarship.