Mathematics/Statistics/Physics Department – Faculty and Staff

Full-Time Faculty

Julie Blinder
Continuing Lecturer in Mathematics
M.S., Chicago State University, 2012
Office: SWRZ 305
Phone: (219) 785-5320

Dr. Glynn Bricker
Associate Professor of Physics
Ph.D., Purdue University, 2009
Office: SWRZ 106
Phone: (219) 785-5452

Dr. Purna Das
Professor of Physics and Department Chair
Ph.D., City University of New York, 1983
Office: SWRZ 109
Phone: (219) 785-5254

Jerry De Groot
Continuing Lecturer in Mathematics
M.A., University of Northern Iowa, 1983
M.S., University of California (Davis), 2002
Office: SWRZ 306
Phone: (219) 785-5320

Dr. Gayla Domke
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Clemson University, 1988
Office: SWRZ 304
Phone: (219) 785-5725

Dr. David Feikes
Professor of Mathematics
Interim Chair, Education Department
Ph.D., Purdue University, 1992
Office: TECH 212
Phone: (219) 785-5489

Dr. Harshini Fernando
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Texas Tech University, 2006
Office: SWRZ 305
Phone: (219) 785-5471

Dr. Bir Kafle
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Louisiana State University 2014
Office: SWRZ 310
Phone: (219) 785-5774

Susitha Karunaratne
Clinical Assistant Professor in Mathematics and Statistics
M.S., Texas Tech University, 2004
Office: SWRZ 105
Phone: (219) 785-5277

Dr. Jonathan Kuhn
Associate Professor of Statistics
Ph.D., University of Toronto (Canada), 1994
Office: SWRZ 309
Phone: (219) 785-5563

Jerry Mostek
Continuing Lecturer of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
M.A., Northeastern Illinois University
Office: SWRZ 111D
Phone: (219) 785-5494

Dr. Keith Schwingendorf
Professor of Mathematics
Director of College of Science Interdisciplinary Research Committee
Ph.D., Purdue University, 1978
Office: SWRZ 102
Phone: (219) 785-5735

Dr. Alain Togbe
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Laval University (Canada), 1997
Office: SWRZ 302
Phone: (219) 785-5458

Dr. Aaron Warren
Associate Professor of Physics
Ph.D., Rutgers University, 2006
Office: SWRZ 107
Phone: (219)785-5659

Retired Faculty

Dr. Santaram Chilukuri
Professor Emeritus of Physics
Ph.D., Andhra (India), 1962

Dr. Linda Duttlinger
Professor Emerita of Developmental Studies
Ph.D., Purdue University, 1979

Dennis Lauer
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
M.S., University of Kansas, 1964
M.S., Purdue University, 1966

Dr. Christine Lehmann
Professor Emerita of Mathematics
Ph.D., North Carolina State University, 1985

Dr. Lawrence Machtinger
Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Ph.D., Washington (St. Louis), 1965

Support Staff

Richard Bohan
Physics Laboratory Technician and Demonstration Assistant
A.S., Purdue University (North Central), 2001
Office: SWRZ 235
Phone: (219) 785-5621

Department Secretary
Office: SWRZ 120
Phone: (219) 785-5298

Limited Term Lecturers