Faculty Senate

professor with students

The Faculty Senate is the governing body for issues involving the faculty, the curriculum, the academic calendar and athletic affairs at the university.

Jeff Shires
Chair, Faculty Senate
Jonathan Swarts
Vice Chair, Faculty Senate
Dan Wilbur
Secretary, Faculty Senate


Meeting Dates 2014-15

All meetings begin at 2:00 p.m. in TECH 109.

Friday, August 22, 2014 (organizational meeting only)
Friday, September 12, 2014
Friday, October 17, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Friday, December 12, 2014
Friday January 16, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015 (organizational meeting only)

Faculty Senate Members 2014-15

Christo-Baker, E. Anne
Connolly, Michael
Covault, Jackie
Daniels, Mitch (President, Purdue University)
Donah, Karen
Duzinkiewicz, Janusz
Dworkin, James (Chancellor)
Fielding, Heather
Garwood, Jan
Gyurko, Charlene
Hecht, Paul
Isaac-Lam, Meden
Jacoby, Patricia
Kincaid, Kenneth
Klosinski, Karen
Kokalov, Assen
Majumdar, Deepa
Ott, Vivian
Patel, Nipul
Pfeffer, Carla
Pula, Jim
Quinn, Vanessa
Rogalin, Christabel
Rose, Jane
Rose, Peggy
Schmid, Karen (Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs)
Schwingendorf, Keith
Sheikh, Waseem
Shires, Jeff (Chair)
Spoljoric, Diane
Steffens, Rachel
Swarts, Jonathan (Vice Chair)
Thomas, Jessica
Whitten, Donna
Wilbur, Dan (Secretary of the Faculty)
Williams, Henry
Zhang, Shengyong


Chairs of the Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate

Agenda Committee – Jonathan Swarts
Assessment Steering Committee – Janusz Duzinkiewicz, Jessica Thomas
Curriculum Committee – Jeff Shires
Educational Policy Committee – Kenneth Kincaid
Faculty Affairs Committee – Jim Pula
General Education Committee – Paul Hecht
Resources Planning and Priority Committee – Peggy Rose
Student Affairs Committee – E. Anne Christo-Baker
Athletic Affairs Subcommittee – Mark Smith
Calendar and Scheduling Subcommittee – Nipul Patel
Enrollment Services Subcommittee – Dan Wilbur
Honors Subcommitte – Assen Kokalov
Library Subcommittee – KR Johnson, Jonathan Swarts